Rusty Glover

Tips | Recommendations | Reviews

How Much Is A Pistol Permit In Alabama?

How Much Is A Pistol Permit In Alabama
Application for Permits in Alabama Laws Regarding Carrying and Transporting Pistols Pistol Persons over the age of 18 can apply to the Sheriff’s Office for a permit to carry a concealed firearm in the state of Alabama. These permits are given by the Sheriff’s Office.

You are required to come to the Sheriff’s Office during business hours in order to either receive a permit or renew one that has already expired. Any individual who submits a request for a handgun permit must first undergo a background check and submit an application before the Sheriff’s Office may process the request.

An annual cost of $15.00 is required to receive a permit to carry a handgun. You can pay this charge with either cash, a check, or a money order. You have the option of purchasing up to five years. One year costs $15.00, two years cost $30.00, three years cost $45.00, four years cost $60.00, and five years cost $75.00.

Permits to carry pistols can be acquired between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. It is NOT the policy to close the office for lunch. In 2001, the state of Alabama approved legislation that recognized handgun licenses granted by other states, on the condition that those other jurisdictions also recognized the pistol license issued by Alabama.

This enables citizens of the state of Alabama who are in possession of a valid pistol permit to carry their weapon in any of these states, and it also enables citizens of these states to carry a handgun in the state of Alabama.

What is needed for a pistol permit in Alabama?

When purchasing a handgun from a private individual, you are not needed to get a permit, undergo a background check, or register the firearm you purchase. The state of Alabama does not require a permit for open carry. Open carrying is permitted for anybody who is at least 18 years old and has the legal right to possess a handgun in their state.

How long does it take to get approved for a pistol permit in Alabama?

How much longer does it take for the government to process my application for a handgun permit? If the Sheriff is not aware of any additional circumstances, the applicant is otherwise legally eligible, and the background check reveals no reason(s), then the Sheriff “must” grant the permission within the next 30 days.

How much is Alabama lifetime pistol permit?

In April of 2021, Governor Kay Ivey of Alabama gave her signature to the bill that would eventually become the Alabama Uniform Concealed Carry Permit Act. People would be able to buy licenses that are valid for one year, five years, or their entire lifetimes if the measure were to become law.

Do I need a permit to have a gun in my house in Alabama?

Individuals in Alabama are not required to have a permit to own or purchase a firearm and keep it in their home; they are not required to register it upon purchase; and they are permitted to open carry in most places, with the exception of certain “sensitive” locations like K-12 schools.

Is Alabama an open carry state 2022?

The long-standing restriction on carrying a concealed firearm in public in Alabama without first obtaining a permission that is subject to a background check was overturned in 2022 when the state of Alabama passed a law known as “permitless carry.”

What states accept Alabama pistol permit?

Alabama: Any individual who holds a concealed carry permission in another state in the United States can lawfully carry a handgun in Alabama, but they are subject to the laws of Alabama regarding firearms while they are in the state. Alabama respects all concealed carry permits issued by other states.

Alabama’s concealed carry permits are recognized in the following 32 states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

With the exception of Indiana, Montana, and North Dakota, all of the states that have reciprocity with Alabama require that the individual carrying a concealed weapon be at least 21 years old.

What does open carry mean in Alabama?

Find more about the laws that govern the possession and carrying of firearms in Alabama. – The state of Alabama is what’s known as a “open carry” state, which means that most people are permitted to openly carry a handgun even if they don’t have a permit.

  1. Ala. Const. Art.
  2. I, 26) The Alabama State Constitution makes it very plain that all people have “a basic right to carry weapons” for the sake of both personal self-protection and the defense of the state.
  3. This does not, however, imply that anybody and everyone is permitted to own a gun or carry one freely wherever they choose to go.

The courts in Alabama have consistently upheld the position that the state is permitted to put reasonable restrictions on the right to carry weapons. In this article, state laws pertaining to concealed carry permits, individuals who are forbidden from possessing weapons, locations where firearms are restricted, and prohibited firearms are discussed.

What states do not honor Alabama gun permits?

Holster.JPG A belt sliding holster made of leather with a Tagua pattern. (Joe Songer/[email protected]). The area is inhabited by feral pigs, ravenous alligators, venomous snakes, and armed drifters. Working on the railroad exposed William J. Gillerlain to a number of hazards, including those listed above.

When traveling by train from Mobile, Alabama, to New Orleans, Louisiana, Gillerlain, who worked as a freight conductor for the CSX Corporation, had a Smith & Wesson.40 caliber revolver with him. He stated that it was likely that the majority of train workers had firearms with them at all times. The 59-year-old citizen of Mobile, Alabama, who had previously had a pistol but had since retired and sold it, has lately submitted a fresh application for a concealed carry licence in the event that he requires it.

Because of the permission, Gillerlain and other residents of Alabama are now authorized to transport their concealed pistols over state boundaries. Although concealed carry pistol permits issued by the state of Alabama are recognized by approximately half of the states, permit holders from Alabama run the danger of being searched by authorities, being fined, and even going to jail if they travel to other states.

  1. The terrain resembles a checkerboard to some degree.
  2. Permit-packing People from Alabama are permitted to legally carry concealed firearms in the state of Michigan, but not in the state of Ohio, Indiana, or Illinois, and Alaska, but not Hawaii.
  3. South Carolina is the only southeastern state that does not accept Alabama’s concealed carry pistol permits.

The other southeastern states do. Follow the reporting as it occurs at and participate in the conversation there. Additionally, some ones of those states have exceptions to the reciprocity rule. For instance, the state of Louisiana acknowledges the concealed carry licences issued by the state of Alabama.

  • However, anybody who is carrying a concealed firearm in the state of Louisiana is required to inform any law enforcement officer who approaches them that they are in possession of a weapon.
  • The officer has the authority to disarm the suspect as well as perform a pat down on them.
  • Holders of an Alabama pistol permit are allowed to carry concealed firearms in any area in the state where it is legal for gun owners to do so.

According to the law, which was amended one year ago, you need the same permission in order to bring a loaded pistol inside a car. This provision was added after the law was initially enacted. In the past, Alabama law respected permits obtained from other states that respected Alabama permits.

  1. A new provision in the law of the state of Alabama reads as follows: “A person licensed to carry a handgun in any state shall be entitled to carry a firearm in this state.” Reciprocity The permits issued by each other’s states are recognized by the states that allow concealed-carry reciprocity.
  2. Residents of Alabama and Mississippi, for instance, who have permits to carry concealed firearms and live in a state that has concealed-carry reciprocity, are allowed to travel freely with their concealed handguns across state boundaries.

Because Vermont does not have any legislation pertaining to concealed carry, citizens of Alabama are permitted to bring their concealed handguns into the state. However, because Vermont does not provide licenses for carrying a concealed weapon, citizens of Vermont are unable to bring their concealed handguns into Alabama.

  1. More generous” gun rights can be found in the south.
  2. Georgia University, located in Athens According to Professor David Mustard, whose research focuses on the regulation of firearms, the concealed-carry reciprocity laws in the south are “more permissive.” Having said that, concealed carry permit reciprocity has both advocates and detractors, as he said earlier.

“Certainly one of the criticisms is that if I have a right to carry, and that right is articulated in the second amendment, I should have that right in various states and not worry about, ‘hey I’m crossing this border or that border,'” Mustard said. “Certainly one of the criticisms is that if I have a right to carry, and that right is articulated in the second amendment.” According to Lindsey Zwicker, who works for the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence, states that do not accept concealed carry permits from jurisdictions that have more lax gun regulations are in a better position to regulate what comes into and leaves the state.

  • What’s most crucial is that there are greater regulations to prevent weapons from falling into the wrong hands,” said Zwicker, who is from San Francisco.
  • This is because there is no reciprocity,” he said.
  • Infractions of the law and other offenses In the last legislative session, South Carolina State Senator Lee Bright proposed legislation that would have done away with the requirement for a concealed carry permit altogether.
See also:  When Is Allergy Season In Alabama?

It was only able to garner a small number of supporters, and so, the bill was never put up for a vote. Bright, a hard conservative who lost a primary contest for the U.S. Senate in June to Republican Lindsay Graham, attributed the failure of the bill’s passage to a “moderate” legislature.

Graham defeated Bright. Bright disclosed to AL.com that he is the owner of a few firearms but does not possess a permit to carry a concealed weapon. It has not deterred him from engaging in what he refers to as “civil disobedience,” which is the act of carrying a concealed firearm. “At what point do you allow yourself to be ruled by tyranny?” According to Bright.

It is stated in the constitution that your rights should not be violated in any way. In South Carolina, the maximum penalty for carrying a concealed firearm without the appropriate authorization is a fine of up to $500 or a possible prison sentence of up to three months, whichever comes first.

  1. In certain places, the consequences are more severe.
  2. Earlier this month, the Associated Press reported that Shaneen Allen, from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was arrested in New Jersey after she brought her concealed gun into New Jersey, which does not recognize her concealed carry permit.
  3. Allen was arrested because she brought her gun into a state that does not recognize her permit.

The woman, who is 27 years old and a mother of two children, might spend as much as two years behind bars. On the website gogetfunding.com, the Shaneen Allen Legal Defense Fund has successfully raised a total of $47,350, surpassing its original goal of $25,000.

Do I need a background check to buy a gun in Alabama?

During a news conference held on Thursday, August 27, 2020 at the Alabama Capitol in Montgomery, Alabama, Governor Kay Ivey announced that a statewide mask order will be extended through October 2, 2020. The announcement may be seen in the file below.

Background checks for anyone who want to carry concealed weapons won’t be required in Alabama. On Thursday, March 10, 2022, Republican Governor Kay Ivey promptly signed the proposal into law, making it official. (AP Photo/Kim Chandler, File) Press Association; Associated Press Associated Press reporting by KIM CHANDLER MONTGOMERY, Ala.

(AP) – In the near future, Alabama will join a growing list of states that make it possible for residents to carry concealed handguns without first passing a background check or obtaining a permission from the state. On Thursday, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey put her signature on the bill, making it official shortly after it was passed by the state legislature.

When the new legislation goes into effect on January 1, 2019, it will no longer be necessary for a person to get a concealed carry permit in order to legally hide a loaded handgun beneath their clothing, in their vehicle, or in a bag or pocketbook that they carry. “Alabama is reiterating its dedication to protecting the rights guaranteed to us by the Second Amendment, in contrast to other states that are doing everything in their power to make life more difficult for law-abiding residents.

I have never wavered in my support of the rights of law-abiding gun owners, and I am glad to continue that support here and now “Ivey stated in the statement that she issued. Gun rights supporters are the ones pushing for this piece of legislation, which they refer to as “constitutional carry” in reference to the right guaranteed by the Second Amendment to both keep and bear guns.

Does Alabama have a gun waiting period?

Even in jurisdictions with a strong sense of an individual’s constitutional right to carry weapons, some regulation is essential to keep the public safe from gun violence. This is true even in states with a strong sense of an individual’s right to bear arms.

  1. In compared to the majority of other states, gun regulation in Alabama is handled in a rather lax manner.
  2. Despite this, several aspects of gun ownership and possession are still subject to regulation in the state of Alabama.
  3. On September 1, 2015, new gun regulations went into effect, the primary goals of which were to give more safety for those who were in situations involving domestic abuse and to prohibit people who suffered from mental illness from lawfully obtaining a firearm.

The primary regulations governing firearms in Alabama are summarized in the table below.

Relevant Statutes (Laws) Alabama Criminal Code, Chapter 11, Article 3, Sections 50 – 85 Carrying Concealed Weapons – Section 13A-11-50 Carrying Pistol on Private Property – Section 13A-11-52 Carrying Rifle or Shotgun Walking Cane – Section 13A-11-54 Unlawful Discharge of Firearms – Section 13A-11-61 Discharging Firearm into School Bus or School Building Section 13A-11-61.1 Unlawful Possession of Altered Firearm – Section 13A-11-64 Possession of Short-Barreled Shot Gun – Section 13A-11-62 Possession of Firearm After Identification Altered – Section 13A-11-63 Certain Persons Forbidden to Possess Firearms – Section 13A-11-72 Permit to Carry Concealed Pistol – Section 13A-11-73, Section 13a-11-75 Penalties for Illegal Firearms – Section 13A-11-84
Illegal Arms In addition to federally mandated laws, it is illegal to own a firearm that has had its manufacturing number altered or removed.
Waiting Period There is no waiting period for a firearm in Alabama.
Who May Not Own Anyone that has been convicted of committing, or attempting to commit, a violent crime, a misdemeanor act of domestic violence, or one of the felonious “violent offenses” specifically listed in the criminal statute Those under a domestic abuse protection order Individuals found to be of “unsound mind” based on incompetency, mental illness, marked subnormal intelligence, lack of mental capacity, or being a danger to oneself or others Defendants in criminal cases found to be insane, not guilty by reason of mental illness, or mentally unfit to stand trial Those who have been involuntarily committed for a final commitment of inpatient care to the Department of Mental Health or a Veterans Administration Drug addicts “Habitual drunkards” Minors under 18 years of age
License Required? Alabama does not require a license to purchase or own a gun.
Concealed Carry License Required? Alabama requires residents to have an Alabama Pistol Permit to carry a concealed weapon in public. Non-residents must have an out-of-state concealed carry permit. You are allowed to carry a concealed weapon on your residential property or place of business without a concealed carry license.
Open Carried Allowed? Open carry is allowed if the firearm is secured, such as in a holster. You may not carry a rifle or a shotgun walking cane.
Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License You must be a resident of Alabama and at least 18 years old to obtain an Alabama Pistol License to carry a concealed handgun. The state may also grant licenses to those in the active military and their spouses. Alabama is a “shall issue” state, which means that if you meet the licensing requirements and are not among those who are not allowed to carry a gun, the state must issue you an Alabama Pistol Permit.
Machine Gun Laws It is illegal to own a machine gun in Alabama, pursuant to federal law, which prohibits the possession of machine guns made after May 19, 1986.
Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession Violations of concealed carry laws, or possession by a minor, drug addict, or “habitual drunkard” can result in a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and a $500 fine. Illegal possession of a firearm by a convicted violent felon, domestic abuser, or anyone of an “unsound mind” is a Class C Felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison and fines up to $15,000.
Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds It is illegal to knowingly carry a firearm in a public school or school bus used for grades K-12 unless the holder has a concealed carry license. Penalties for such violations can be considered a Class C felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison and fines up to $15,000, depending on if the school or bus is occupied or unoccupied. Firearms are allowed on college and university campuses.

It is vital to check the state laws you are investigating by performing your own legal research or by interacting with an experienced attorney since state laws are always evolving and it is possible that the laws you are researching are out of date.

Where do I get my concealed carry permit in Alabama?

Information in General: If you want to be a responsible gun owner, you absolutely need to educate yourself on the rules that govern how weapons can be used. Local restrictions might be different, and the laws of each state can be different. Citizens are required to consult with the relevant authorities in the jurisdiction where the firearm is going to be used.

  • In accordance with the provisions of the Alabama State Code, the Sheriff of a county is the one who is responsible for issuing a qualifying or unlimited license to a resident of that county who meets the requirements to be licensed.
  • Permission to conceal and carry a firearm must be requested from the county sheriff in the county in which you reside.
See also:  Alabama Vs Ohio State Where Is The Game?

Pricing:

1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year
Paper Permit $20.00 $40.00 $60.00 $80.00 $100.00

Please take note of the material that follows:

  • The email address that you enter on the application will be the one that is used for any and all communication on the status of your application, including whether or not your application was approved.
  • Within thirty days of receiving a fully filled out application, the Sheriff’s Office will either approve or decline an applicant’s request for a concealed carry license.
  • 119 Lee Street North East, Decatur, Alabama 35601 is the address of the Morgan County Sheriff’s Office.
  • The hours during which permits can be collected are as follows: Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
  • Before beginning the application process, you must first read the prerequisites that are listed below.

Can you buy a lifetime pistol permit in Alabama?

Handgun owners in Alabama will not have to wait a whole lifetime for a lifetime permit, but they will have to wait for quite some time longer. Before some point in 2022, not a single county will issue the permission. The first step, which is mandated by ALEA, is the creation of a statewide database. After then, any and all sheriff’s offices in the state would be able to view that information.

Can you have a loaded pistol in your car in Alabama?

This page was last modified on May 5, 2022. Carrying a loaded pistol in a vehicle in Alabama does not require a permit or license as of January 1, 2023. This change went into effect on that day. In the past, the state required a concealed carry license in order to carry a firearm in a vehicle.

  • This was the case even if the person was permitted by law to possess a handgun and the weapon was kept unloaded and stored in a locked compartment or container that was in or affixed securely to the vehicle and was kept out of reach of the driver or any passengers.
  • However, this requirement has since been lifted.1 A person who is not prohibited from possessing a handgun may transport it in a vehicle on school premises as long as the firearm is unloaded and in a secure wrapper, and is being transported from the place of purchase to the purchaser’s home or place of business, or to or from a place of repair, or while moving from one place of abode or business to another.

Despite the fact that firearms are generally prohibited on K-12 school grounds, a person who is not prohibited from possessing a hand 2 The transportation or storage of a lawfully possessed handgun or ammunition for that handgun in an employee’s privately owned motor vehicle while parked or operated in a public or private parking area is not allowed to be restricted or prohibited by a public or private employer, provided that the employee satisfies all of the following conditions:

  • The car is either driven or parked at an area where it is legally allowed to be in any other capacity.
  • The handgun might be any one of the following options:
  • In a vehicle that is being cared to by the worker, hidden from the employee’s regular line of sight within the employee’s vehicle.
  • In a vehicle that is not being attended by the employee, hidden from common view, and securely secured inside of a compartment or container
  • in the inside of the person’s privately owned car
  • or in a compartment or container that is firmly attached to the motor vehicle.

An employer, whether public or private, is not allowed to restrict or prohibit an employee from transporting or storing a lawfully possessed firearm that is legal for use for hunting in Alabama (other than a pistol), or ammunition for that firearm, in the employee’s privately owned motor vehicle while the vehicle is parked or operated in a public or private parking area, provided that all of the following conditions are met:

  • The worker is in possession of a current and legitimate hunting license for the state of Alabama
  • The firearm is stored empty at all times while it is on the premises
  • It is during a time of year in which hunting is allowed, according to the laws or regulations of Alabama
  • The worker has never been convicted of any act of violence, as that word is defined, and there is no protection order against them for domestic violence, as that term is defined by state law
  • in addition, they have never been subject to such an order.

During the time that the employee is attending to the car, the handgun must be hidden from view. When the worker is not present at the vehicle, the handgun must be hidden and secured within a compartment, container, or the interior of the vehicle, or it must be stored in a compartment or container that is securely connected to the vehicle.3 Our specialists are able to talk about a wide range of topics related to the prevention of gun violence. Have a question? Send an email to [email protected] to contact us. Contact

  1. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-73.
  2. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-74.
  3. Ala. Code § 13A-11-90 (b).

Can you carry a gun in Walmart in Alabama?

Alabama News Network as of 4 September 2019, 6:52 PM Central Daylight Time Staff Walmart is acting in a proactive manner in an effort to reduce gun violence. The megastore chain said on Tuesday that once their existing supplies of handgun ammunition and short-barrel rifle ammunition, both of which are compatible with firearms that have a military-style design, they would no longer be available for sale.

  1. Walmart is requesting that customers not openly carry weapons inside of its stores in addition to restricting the amount of ammo it sells.
  2. This includes places like Alabama that allow citizens to carry concealed weapons openly.
  3. Additionally, it will discontinue the sale of all handguns in Alaska, which will represent the company’s entire withdrawal from the handguns market.

This decision was made in the wake of multiple incidents of mass shooting, and it has stirred up debate on a local and national level. A number of people in Montgomery expressed their approval of Walmart’s decision. “It is in everyone’s best interest, including mine, if Walmart stops selling pistols and ammo for ARs.

  • I am relieved to hear that they are encouraging congress to adopt mandatory background checks.
  • I am in favor of imposing prohibitions on assault rifles, high-capacity magazines, and assault firearms in general, as well as universal background checks and red flag regulations.
  • In other nations, these approaches have been shown to successfully reduce gun violence “according to Terry Brown, a resident of Montgomery.

Even though Alabama is an open carry state, there are still some individuals who believe it would be unsettling to see someone openly carrying a handgun at a store like Walmart. Brown stated, “I know that if I’m shopping at Walmart with my grandson and I see someone carrying a gun then I’m going to be extremely worried and would want to get him out of there.” “I know that if I see someone carrying a gun then I’m going to be very scared and would want to get him out of there.” The majority of Alabama residents are of the opposite opinion.

  • Since the last time I was there, a shooter stormed in there and started killing people, I find it ludicrous that they would do that.
  • Since that terrible thing happened, I always have a weapon with me when I go to Walmart.
  • If they tell me they don’t want me in there with my firearm, I’m not going to Walmart.

I won’t do it. Period. Even if I don’t spend much time there shopping, the fact of the matter is that I’m here to defend both myself and you. That is exactly what I will do, “said B.C. Cantor. Walmart has stated that it has no plans to alter its policy on customers who have licences to carry concealed weapons.

In addition, in the following weeks, it will be putting signage to stores in order to make the adjustments more readily apparent. Even though she is aware that some people may attempt to take advantage of the law, an Alabama resident who did not desire to be identified stated that the open carry law made her feel safer.

“I am aware of the fact that, in light of the recent incidents that have taken place with Walmart and the shooting in Texas, there are particular sections and rules that they are required to obey in order to obtain a permit to carry a hidden or open weapon.

Although having members of my family who carry concealed weapons helps us feel safer in public, I am aware that some people may misuse this right.” Walmart has the freedom to sell or not sell anything they want, according to Bama Carry, an Alabama gun rights group. However, this action will not make a difference or halt the bloodshed that has been occurring throughout the state.

Eddie Fulmer, the President of Bama Carry, stated that “if they think what they have done, in regards to ammunition sales, and deciding not to sell ammunition such as pistols, will make a difference, they are completely mistaken,” and that “if they think what they have done will make a difference, they are 100% wrong.” Tweets were sent out by the National Rifle Association of America, an organization that advocates for the rights of gun owners, in response to the changes that were announced “It is embarrassing to watch Walmart cave to the pressure of those who are staunchly opposed to firearms in society.

  • Soon, lines at Walmart will be replaced with lines at other stores who are more supportive of the basic freedoms enjoyed by people in the United States.” “Because they have yielded to the pressures of the anti-gun movement, what they have actually done is given the anti-gun movement ammo.
  • In other words, they have given the movement ammunition.

They have denied the law-abiding folks their constitutionally protected right to use arms in self-defense “added Fulmer. Walmart has issued a statement indicating that the company plans to tailor the remaining shop assortment at its locations to cater specifically to the requirements of sport shooters and hunters.

Can you own a pistol at 18 in Alabama?

The most recent update was made on September 15, 2021. Under Alabama law, the purchase, gifting, or loan of a firearm to a person under the age of 18 is strictly prohibited.1 The basic rule in Alabama is that it is illegal for a person to transmit a firearm to another person if that person is under the age of 18 and the transferor has probable grounds to suspect that the transferee is less than 18.2 The possession of handguns by anyone under the age of 18 is illegal in the state of Alabama.3 However, these prohibitions do not apply if the juvenile receives permission to possess a handgun from a parent or legal guardian who is not barred from carrying a weapon by state or federal law, and one or more of the following conditions are also satisfied: 4 Under the watchful eye of an adult who is not barred from owning a firearm by either state or federal law, the juvenile is participating in a hunter education class or a guns safety class; At a firing range that has been constructed for that purpose, the minor is engaged in practice with the use of a firearm or target shooting under the supervision of an adult who is not barred from carrying a firearm by state or federal law; The minor is participating in an organized competition that involves the use of a firearm, or the minor is participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group that is exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C.501(c)(3) and that performance includes the use of weapons; The minor is hunting or fishing in accordance with a valid license, if such a license is required, and the person has the license in his or her possession; the person has written permission from the owner or legal possessor of the land on which the activities are being conducted; and the pistol, when loaded, is carried only in a manner discernible by ordinary observation; The minor is located on real property that is owned, managed, or controlled by the minor’s parent(s), legal guardian(s), or grandparent(s); The minor is a member of the armed forces or of the National Guard and the act in question occurred in the performance of the minor’s official duties; or The minor is traveling by motor vehicle to any of the locations or activities listed above, has written permission to possess the pistol from his or her parent or legal guardian, and the pistol is locked in a compartment or container that is securely affixed to the motor vehicle and is out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the motor vehicle while the minor is traveling to any of the locations or activities listed above.

It is also not against the law for a minor to use a pistol while acting in self-defense of himself or herself or other persons against an intruder into the residence of the minor or a residence in which the minor is an invited guest. This exception applies whether the intruder is inside the residence of the minor or the residence of another person in which the minor is a guest.5 Our specialists are able to talk about a wide range of topics related to the prevention of gun violence.

Have a question? Send an email to [email protected] to contact us. Contact

  1. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-57. This clause does not apply to the inheritance by a minor of the title to a handgun, but it does apply to the transfer of possession of a firearm. See also Ala. Code § 13A-11-76 (defining minor as a person under age 18).
  2. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-76. Nevertheless, Alabama Code section 13A-11-76 does not govern the selling of pistols as curiosities or decorations because it is not a firearm. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-83.
  3. Ala. Code § 13A-11-72 (b).
  4. Ala. Code § 13A-11-72 (f).
  5. Ala. Code § 13A-11-72 (g).

Where do I get my concealed carry permit in Alabama?

Information in General: If you want to be a responsible gun owner, you need to educate yourself on the rules that govern how weapons can be used. Local restrictions might be different, and the laws of each state can be different. Citizens are required to consult with the relevant authorities in the jurisdiction where the firearm is going to be used.

In accordance with the provisions of the Alabama State Code, the Sheriff of a county is the one who is responsible for issuing a qualifying or unlimited license to a resident of that county who meets the requirements to be licensed. Permission to conceal and carry a firearm must be requested from the county sheriff in the county in which you reside.

Pricing:

1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year
Paper Permit $20.00 $40.00 $60.00 $80.00 $100.00

Please take note of the material that follows:

  • The email address that you enter on the application will be the one that is used for any and all communication on the status of your application, including whether or not your application was approved.
  • Within thirty days of receiving a fully filled out application, the Sheriff’s Office will either approve or decline an applicant’s request for a concealed carry license.
  • 119 Lee Street North East, Decatur, Alabama 35601 is the address of the Morgan County Sheriff’s Office.
  • The hours during which permits can be collected are as follows: Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
  • Before beginning the application process, you must first read the prerequisites that are listed below.

Do you need a background check to buy a gun in Alabama?

During a news conference held on Thursday, August 27, 2020 at the Alabama Capitol in Montgomery, Alabama, Governor Kay Ivey announced that a statewide mask order will be extended through October 2, 2020. The announcement may be seen in the file below.

  1. Background checks for anyone who want to carry concealed weapons won’t be required in Alabama.
  2. On Thursday, March 10, 2022, Republican Governor Kay Ivey promptly signed the proposal into law, making it official.
  3. AP Photo/Kim Chandler, File) Press Association; Associated Press Associated Press reporting by KIM CHANDLER MONTGOMERY, Ala.

(AP) – In the near future, Alabama will join a growing list of states that make it possible for residents to carry concealed handguns without first passing a background check or obtaining a permission from the state. On Thursday, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey put her signature on the bill, making it official shortly after it was passed by the state legislature.

When the new legislation goes into effect on January 1, 2019, it will no longer be necessary for a person to get a concealed carry permit in order to legally hide a loaded handgun beneath their clothing, in their vehicle, or in a bag or pocketbook that they carry. “Alabama is reiterating its dedication to protecting the rights guaranteed to us by the Second Amendment, in contrast to other states that are doing everything in their power to make life more difficult for law-abiding residents.

I have never wavered in my support of the rights of law-abiding gun owners, and I am glad to continue that support here and now “Ivey stated in the statement that she issued. Gun rights supporters are the ones pushing for this piece of legislation, which they refer to as “constitutional carry” in reference to the right guaranteed by the Second Amendment to both keep and bear guns.

What states can you carry a gun without a permit 2022?

Constitutional Carry States – Concealed carry is permitted in some states under the name “Constitutional Carry” in other states. This opens the door for anybody who is legally allowed to carry a firearm to do so without the need for a permit. The states that allow concealed carry under the Constitution are as follows: Alaska (only inhabitants are allowed to carry), Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont (does not issue licenses), West Virginia (residents only), and Wyoming.