What Do You Need To Buy A Gun In Alabama?

What Do You Need To Buy A Gun In Alabama
Even in jurisdictions with a strong sense of an individual’s constitutional right to carry weapons, some regulation is essential to keep the public safe from gun violence. This is true even in states with a strong sense of an individual’s right to bear arms.

  • In compared to the majority of other states, gun regulation in Alabama is handled in a rather lax manner.
  • Despite this, several aspects of gun ownership and possession are still subject to regulation in the state of Alabama.
  • On September 1, 2015, new gun regulations went into effect, the primary goals of which were to give more safety for those who were in situations involving domestic abuse and to prohibit people who suffered from mental illness from lawfully obtaining a firearm.

The primary regulations governing firearms in Alabama are summarized in the table below.

Relevant Statutes (Laws) Alabama Criminal Code, Chapter 11, Article 3, Sections 50 – 85 Carrying Concealed Weapons – Section 13A-11-50 Carrying Pistol on Private Property – Section 13A-11-52 Carrying Rifle or Shotgun Walking Cane – Section 13A-11-54 Unlawful Discharge of Firearms – Section 13A-11-61 Discharging Firearm into School Bus or School Building Section 13A-11-61.1 Unlawful Possession of Altered Firearm – Section 13A-11-64 Possession of Short-Barreled Shot Gun – Section 13A-11-62 Possession of Firearm After Identification Altered – Section 13A-11-63 Certain Persons Forbidden to Possess Firearms – Section 13A-11-72 Permit to Carry Concealed Pistol – Section 13A-11-73, Section 13a-11-75 Penalties for Illegal Firearms – Section 13A-11-84
Illegal Arms In addition to federally mandated laws, it is illegal to own a firearm that has had its manufacturing number altered or removed.
Waiting Period There is no waiting period for a firearm in Alabama.
Who May Not Own Anyone that has been convicted of committing, or attempting to commit, a violent crime, a misdemeanor act of domestic violence, or one of the felonious “violent offenses” specifically listed in the criminal statute Those under a domestic abuse protection order Individuals found to be of “unsound mind” based on incompetency, mental illness, marked subnormal intelligence, lack of mental capacity, or being a danger to oneself or others Defendants in criminal cases found to be insane, not guilty by reason of mental illness, or mentally unfit to stand trial Those who have been involuntarily committed for a final commitment of inpatient care to the Department of Mental Health or a Veterans Administration Drug addicts “Habitual drunkards” Minors under 18 years of age
License Required? Alabama does not require a license to purchase or own a gun.
Concealed Carry License Required? Alabama requires residents to have an Alabama Pistol Permit to carry a concealed weapon in public. Non-residents must have an out-of-state concealed carry permit. You are allowed to carry a concealed weapon on your residential property or place of business without a concealed carry license.
Open Carried Allowed? Open carry is allowed if the firearm is secured, such as in a holster. You may not carry a rifle or a shotgun walking cane.
Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License You must be a resident of Alabama and at least 18 years old to obtain an Alabama Pistol License to carry a concealed handgun. The state may also grant licenses to those in the active military and their spouses. Alabama is a “shall issue” state, which means that if you meet the licensing requirements and are not among those who are not allowed to carry a gun, the state must issue you an Alabama Pistol Permit.
Machine Gun Laws It is illegal to own a machine gun in Alabama, pursuant to federal law, which prohibits the possession of machine guns made after May 19, 1986.
Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession Violations of concealed carry laws, or possession by a minor, drug addict, or “habitual drunkard” can result in a misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and a $500 fine. Illegal possession of a firearm by a convicted violent felon, domestic abuser, or anyone of an “unsound mind” is a Class C Felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison and fines up to $15,000.
Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds It is illegal to knowingly carry a firearm in a public school or school bus used for grades K-12 unless the holder has a concealed carry license. Penalties for such violations can be considered a Class C felony, punishable by up to ten years in prison and fines up to $15,000, depending on if the school or bus is occupied or unoccupied. Firearms are allowed on college and university campuses.

It is vital to check the state laws you are investigating by performing your own legal research or by interacting with an experienced attorney since state laws are always evolving and it is possible that the laws you are researching are out of date.

Can you buy a gun without a license in Alabama?

Acquisition as well as Transfer It is not necessary to obtain a permit from the state in order to buy a pistol, rifle, or shotgun. MORE Possession To own a pistol, rifle, or shotgun in this state does not require a permission of any kind. MORE Carrying It is legal to carry a handgun openly in most situations, however there are several notable exemptions.

According to Alabama law, it is a rebuttable presumption that the simple act of carrying a visible firearm in a public place, as long as the handgun is holstered or otherwise secured, does not in and of itself constitute a violation of the statute against disorderly conduct. Ala. Code § 13A-11-7 (c). MORE Antiques and Replicas The regulations regarding the acquisition, possession, or sale of handguns do not apply to “antique handguns,” which are defined as pistols that are held or sold “as curiosities or decorations.” It is permissible to travel such handguns unloaded and in a container such as a bag, box, or securely wrapped package; nonetheless, they cannot be hidden on the person.

Ala. Code §§ 13A-11-83, 13A-11-50 (prohibition on concealed carry). Machine Guns, “Assault Weapons,” Magazines, etc. There is no state legislation in Alabama that either defines or regulates the term “assault weapons” or the term “large capacity magazines.” Machine guns as a category of firearms are not particularly regulated by this law.

  1. MORE Preemption According to Section 13A-11-61.3(c) of the Alabama Code, “the entire field of regulation in this state touching in any way upon firearms, ammunition, and firearm accessories” is reserved for the state legislature.
  2. This is “to the complete exclusion of any order, ordinance, or rule promulgated or enforced by any political subdivision,” as the statute puts it.

MORE Reinstauration of Legal Standing In the state of Alabama, there is a process for the restoration of rights for those who are unable to own firearms due to their mental health. A pardon can help restore gun rights that were taken away as a result of a conviction for a crime.

  • MORE Protection for the Range Because of state legislation, “sport shooting ranges” are shielded from some types of civil and criminal liabilities that may be incurred as a result of the range’s operation or usage.
  • MORE Miscellaneous According to Section 11-80-11 of the Alabama Code, the authority to bring or settle any lawsuit in which the state has an exclusive interest or right to recover against a firearm or ammunition manufacturer, trade association, or dealer is reserved for the state’s Attorney General.

Additionally, Section 11-80-11 of the Alabama Code grants the Attorney General the authority to bring or settle any lawsuit on behalf of any governmental unit that was created by or pursuant to an act of the state legislature or the state constitution for damages, abatement, or other relief This does not prevent a county or municipal corporation from bringing a legal action against a manufacturer or dealer of firearms or ammunition for breach of contract or breach of warranty in relation to firearms or ammunition that was purchased by the political subdivision or local governmental authority.

See also:  When Is Strawberry Season In Alabama?

Can I buy a handgun at 18 in Alabama?

The restrictions governing the purchase, ownership, and registration of weapons in Alabama appear to be somewhat more lax than the requirements in other states. Individuals are not required by the rules of Alabama to get a gun permit in order to acquire rifles, shotguns, or pistols.

  • This applies to all types of firearms.
  • In most cases, a permit is not necessary in order to purchase a firearm from a local sporting goods store or hunting store, where such purchases can be made by anybody.
  • However, despite the fact that Alabama may have its own rules and laws surrounding weapons, the state is still obligated to comply with some laws and standards established at the federal level.

Residents of Alabama who are above the age of 18 are permitted to buy rifles and shotguns from any licensed dealer in any state, regardless of where the dealer is located. However, only citizens who have reached the age of 21 are allowed to buy or sell handguns, and those individuals must have a background check.

  • Any firearm that does not have a shoulder stock is not regarded to be a rifle or shotgun, and as a result, those who are under the legal age of 21 are not permitted to acquire such firearms.
  • In addition, under Alabama law, the sale of any handgun is prohibited to anyone who have a history of either violent or disorderly behavior, or who have issues relating to the consumption of alcoholic beverages.

Additionally, a person who is legally capable of being classified as mentally ill is not permitted to acquire any type of handgun. According to the rules governing firearms in Alabama, it is not required to get a permission in order to own a firearm of any sort.

If an individual is over the age of 18, does not have a documented history involving drugs or alcohol in relation to disorderly conduct, does not have a documented history involving drugs or alcohol in relation to disorderly conduct, and is not legally declared as having mental-stability problems, then they do not need a permit to possess a firearm.

The only exceptions to this rule are (1) it is illegal for a person to carry a firearm while in a public place or while in close vicinity to a demonstration, and (2) it is illegal to possess a shotgun or rifle that has had its barrel shortened or sawed off.

The open carrying of weapons is a legal option under Alabama’s gun laws; however, there are some significant exceptions to the general norm. The fact that it is against the law to carry a hidden handgun without a permit is the most famous of these restrictions. Carrying a concealed handgun within the state of Alabama is the sole instance in which an Alabama gun permit is required.

It is against the law for a person to hide a weapon on their person or in their vehicle unless local law enforcement officials give them permission to do so. If a person is not on their own private property, it is illegal for them to carry a hidden pistol in any form.

  • One and only one scenario qualifies for this to be taken into consideration, and that is one in which an individual can articulate a compelling case for why they should be allowed to carry a pistol.
  • The concealed weapon statute in Alabama may only be overturned if a special mandate is given by the appropriate authority, and even then, it is up to that official to decide whether or not to do so.

Any person who does not permanently dwell in the state of Alabama is permitted to carry a handgun, provided that they are able to show the required papers demonstrating that they are eligible and licensed to carry a firearm in their place of domicile. What Do You Need To Buy A Gun In Alabama

How long does it take to get a gun permit in Alabama?

Permits for Carrying a Pistol INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILLING OUT AN APPLICATION FOR A PISTOL PERMIT **** DUE TO COVID-19, THE KIOSK IS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE. To begin the application procedure needed by the law for the background check, use the secure link to create an account with a log-on name and password.

Please provide the necessary information for the background check, and we will get back to you within the next month on your eligibility. There is a cost associated with using your credit card or debit card to make an online payment. A computer The KIOSK may be found at our office at 603 Fiber Street Huntsville, Alabama 35801, and it is offered to customers who either want to pay for their permit with cash or who do not have access to a computer at either their place of employment or their place of residence.

We will let you know when the permit may be picked up at the 603 Fiber Street location when the application has been submitted online at the KIOSK, the background check has been finished, and the permit has been authorized. You can choose to get notification of your acceptance through e-mail, text message, or an automated phone call.

When picking up your permit, you will need to provide a valid Alabama driver’s license or Alabama state identification card in order to be verified. We are open from 8:00 in the morning until 4:00 in the afternoon, Monday through Friday (except on holidays). In the event that permits are not collected within sixty days, the background check will need to be processed again.

In the new system for awarding pistol permits, permit holders who wish to renew their permits will be asked to go online and set up an account before they can submit their renewal application. The question about whether you have been charged with or convicted of any crime INCLUDES the possibility of having received traffic fines. Even if it is not necessary for you to mention each one separately or to have precise years, failing to reveal this information might be cause for the application to be rejected. To see the Pistol Permit Brochure, please click here. Please visit this link for the ATF’s Guidelines. Permit to Carry a Pistol at No Cost for Retired Veterans As of the first of December in 2015, the only way for you to apply for a pistol permit is to utilize the website that is provided below.

Simply start your online application for a pistol permit by clicking HERE. For further details, please go to the Alabama Attorney General’s website, which may be accessed by clicking HERE. FAQs Can I apply for a state pistol permit to carry a concealed weapon if I recently relocated to Madison County and want to keep my gun concealed? Yes Where can I submit my application for a state pistol permit in Alabama? To begin the application procedure needed by the law for the background check, use the secure link to create an account with a log-on name and password.

Please provide the necessary information for the background check, and we will get back to you within the next month on your eligibility. There is a cost associated with using your credit card or debit card to make an online payment. People who want to pay for their permit with cash or who do not have access to a computer at either their place of employment or their home can use the computer KIOSK that is situated in our office at 603 Fiber Street Huntsville, Alabama 35801, and it is available to them.

We will let you know when the permit may be picked up at the 603 Fiber Street location when the application has been submitted online at the KIOSK, the background check has been finished, and the permit has been authorized. You can choose to get notification of your acceptance through e-mail, text message, or an automated phone call.

Gun laws in Alabama | Open and Concealed Carry Laws Explained

How much longer does it take for the government to process my application for a handgun permit? Within thirty days, the permit “must” be issued by the Sheriff if the Sheriff has no information to the contrary, the background check reveals no reason(s), and the applicant is otherwise legally authorized to receive the permit.

See also:  How To Listen To Alabama Football?

In the event that your application for a handgun permit is refused, the Sheriff’s Office will send you written information about the situation. Please allow a period of thirty days before calling our office to ensure that you have received this information. Non-Resident Licenses Available Under the Gun Reciprocity Law Only residents of Alabama are eligible to receive a concealed handgun license from the state of Alabama, and they must apply via the sheriff of the county in which they live.

At this time, the state of Alabama does not grant permits to carry a concealed weapon to citizens of other states. OTHER STATES Gun restrictions are notoriously difficult to understand. It is the responsibility of each individual who possesses a carry conceal permit from the state of Alabama to check with the state or jurisdiction that they will be traveling to in order to determine whether or not that state or jurisdiction honors Alabama’s permit and whether or not there are any restrictions or conditions that are imposed on individuals who carry firearms with permits from other states or jurisdictions there.

  • Permission holders who are less than 21 years old are required to disclose their age to the state or authority that issued their permit.
  • This is necessary since certain states that recognize the Alabama permit do not recognize it if the permit holder is younger than 21 years old.
  • Permit holders are reminded that if they carry a legitimate concealed handgun into another state, they are subject to the laws of that state regarding concealed handguns even if they have their own state’s permit to do so.

When in Alabama, a person who possesses a handgun carry permission or license from another state is required to transport and carry that firearm in accordance with the laws of Alabama. The state of Alabama accepts concealed carry handgun licenses and permits issued by other states; nevertheless, the carrier is responsible for abiding by any laws that are in effect while in the state of Alabama.

  • Additionally, a permit is not required for a person to carry or travel a long gun (such as a rifle or shotgun).
  • It is possible for a person to legally carry a firearm, including a handgun, from one state in which it is allowed to own one to another state without being needed to get a permit under the law of Alabama so long as the following requirements are satisfied: The chamber of the weapon is empty.

The passenger compartment of the vehicle being used for carrying the firearm and any ammunition being carried is not easily accessible or immediately accessible from the passenger compartment of the vehicle. In the event that the vehicle does not have a compartment that is distinct from the driver’s compartment, the handgun and ammunition are required to be stored in a container that is secured and is not the glove box or the console.

Section 926A of Title 18 of the United States Code A person who has been found guilty of committing a “crime of violence” in this state or in another jurisdiction is not permitted to acquire or carry a firearm in accordance with the laws of Alabama. Chapter 13A-11 Section 13A-11-72 Murder, manslaughter, rape, assault, robbery, burglary, and abduction are the types of crimes that fall under the category of “crimes of violence.” A person who is dependent on drugs or who is frequently drunk is not allowed to acquire or possess a firearm.

Chapter 13A-11 Section 13A-11-72 Any individual who violates the laws of pistols in the state of Alabama is liable to being arrested and, upon conviction, being sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than one year and a fine of not more than $500, or both, depending on the severity of the infraction.

How long does a background check take for a gun Alabama?

A check of one’s history in order to carry a handgun may take as little as ten minutes. You are required to fill out an ATF 4473 form on the computer at Bullet and Barrel, which is located in Huntsville and is an indoor shooting range and training facility. In most cases, the denial or clearance of your application will take no more than a few minutes.

Does Alabama require pistol permit?

CNN — Beginning January 2019, residents of Alabama will no longer have to go through the process of obtaining a permit or submitting to a background check in order to carry a concealed handgun. On Thursday, Alabama became the 22nd state to abolish the necessity for concealed carry permits when Republican Governor Kay Ivey signed legislation into law that eliminated the need for such permits.

  • Ivey issued a statement in which she reaffirmed Alabama’s commitment to defending the rights guaranteed by the Second Amendment.
  • Unlike other states that are doing everything in their power to make it harder for law-abiding citizens, Alabama is reaffirming our commitment to protecting our Second Amendment rights,” the statement read.

“I have always advocated for the rights of responsible gun owners, and it makes me pleased to continue doing so today,” the senator said. Without a permission, anyone will be able to carry a firearm in their jacket, pocketbook, or automobile under the new legislation, which will take effect on January 1.

At this time, the state does not need a permit to openly carry a weapon nor does it conduct background checks on those who acquire firearms. The Alabama Sheriff’s Association was opposed to the measure and held a rally against it earlier this month at the state Capitol. They said that permit-less conceal carry laws would make it easier for people to purchase weapons and not register them.

The legislation ultimately failed to pass. At least six additional states’ legislatures, including those of Georgia, Wisconsin, South Carolina, Indiana, Ohio, and Nebraska, are now debating whether or not to allow citizens to carry concealed firearms without a permit.

  1. The legislation are moving forward despite an increase in gun violence and killings, as well as following a jump in the number of homicides in the year 2020.
  2. Ivey’s action was hailed as a “NRA Victory” by the National Rifle Association, which also voiced its approval of it.
  3. Because of that, people living in Alabama are now in a significantly safer position.

We are grateful to the members of the Alabama House and Senate who support gun rights for making the issue of personal protection a top concern. A heartfelt thank you to members of the NRA for your dogged persistence “what the tweet had to say. The Institute for Legislative Action of the National Rifle Association issued a statement saying that it will continue to support the campaign nationwide.

See also:  What City Is Lake Weiss Alabama?

The head of the institution, Jason Ouimet, stated that the National Rifle Association (NRA) will continue to advocate for this “God-given right” until all states in the country adopted constitutional carry laws. CNN has contacted the Alabama Sheriff’s Association as well as the NRA in an effort to obtain further feedback.

Emma Tucker of CNN provided contributions to this article. What Do You Need To Buy A Gun In Alabama

Is it legal to shoot a gun in your backyard in Alabama?

I Live In Alabama; Is It Legal For Me To Shoot A Gun In My Backyard? – There is no indication in the Alabama Firearms Code as to whether or not you are permitted to discharge firearms in your own backyard. The code, on the other hand, specifies locations where it is not permissible to fire a weapon, and private property is not one of those locations.

  1. One must “not hunt or attempt to hunt within one hundred yards of any dwelling belonging to another,” which is a provision that can be found in Chapter 220–2-.139 of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Administrative Code.
  2. This provision is the law that comes the closest to prohibiting people from firing firearms in their own backyard.

In addition to this, it states that “it shall be unlawful for any person to discharge a firearm while hunting in such a manner that any projectile strikes any dwelling or building used for human occupation, whether occupied or not or any commercial vessel,” and this cannot be done without the permission of the owner or lessee of the dwelling, building, or vessel that was struck by the projectile.

Can a non violent felon own a gun in Alabama?

A criminal charge can result in the loss of a person’s ability to possess a handgun even in the absence of a subsequent conviction. This is due to the fact that Alabama law, specifically section 13 A-11-75, mandates this.

Can I buy a handgun at 19 in Alabama?

The most recent update was made on September 15, 2021. Under Alabama law, the purchase, gifting, or lending of a firearm to a person under the age of 18 is strictly prohibited.1 The basic rule in Alabama is that it is illegal for a person to transmit a firearm to another person if that person is under the age of 18 and the transferor has probable grounds to suspect that the transferee is less than 18.2 Alabama also prohibits individuals under age 18 from possessing pistols.3 However, these prohibitions do not apply if the minor has permission to possess a pistol from a parent or legal guardian who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law, and one or more of the following conditions are also satisfied: 4 Under the watchful eye of an adult who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm by either state or federal law, the minor is participating in a hunter education class or a firearms safety class; At a firing range that has been established for that purpose, the minor is engaging in practice with the use of a firearm or target shooting under the supervision of an adult who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law; The minor is participating in an organized competition that involves the use of a firearm, or the minor is participating in or practicing for a performance by an organized group that is exempt from federal income tax under 26 U.S.C.501(c)(3) and that performance includes the use of weapons; The minor is hunting or fishing in accordance with a valid license, if such a license is required, and the person has the license in his or her possession; the person has written permission from the owner or legal possessor of the land on which the activities are being conducted; and the pistol, when loaded, is carried only in a manner discernible by ordinary observation; The minor is located on real property that is owned, managed, or controlled by the minor’s parent(s), legal guardian(s), or grandparent(s); The minor is a member of the armed forces or of the National Guard and the act in question occurred in the performance of the minor’s official duties; or The minor is traveling by motor vehicle to any of the locations or activities listed above, has written permission to possess the pistol from his or her parent or legal guardian, and the pistol is locked in a compartment or container that is securely affixed to the motor vehicle and is out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the motor vehicle while the minor is traveling to any of the locations or activities listed above.

  • It is also not against the law for a minor to use a pistol while acting in self-defense of himself or herself or other persons against an intruder into the residence of the minor or a residence in which the minor is an invited guest.
  • This exception applies whether the intruder is inside the residence of the minor or the residence of another person in which the minor is a guest.5 Our specialists are able to talk about a wide range of topics related to the prevention of gun violence.

Have a question? Email us at [email protected] Contact What Do You Need To Buy A Gun In Alabama

  1. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-57. This clause does not apply to the inheritance by a minor of the title to a handgun, but it does apply to the transfer of possession of a firearm. See also Ala. Code § 13A-11-76 (defining minor as a person under age 18).
  2. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-76. Nevertheless, Alabama Code section 13A-11-76 does not govern the selling of pistols as curiosities or decorations because it is not a firearm. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-83.
  3. Ala. Code Section 13A-11-72(b) (b).
  4. Ala. Code § 13A-11-72 (f).
  5. Ala. Code § 13A-11-72 (g).

Is it legal to shoot a gun in your backyard in Alabama?

I Live In Alabama; Is It Legal For Me To Shoot A Gun In My Backyard? – There is no indication in the Alabama Firearms Code as to whether or not you are permitted to discharge firearms in your own backyard. The code, on the other hand, specifies locations where it is not permissible to fire a weapon, and private property is not one of those locations.

One must “not hunt or attempt to hunt within one hundred yards of any dwelling belonging to another,” which is a provision that can be found in Chapter 220–2-.139 of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources Administrative Code. This provision is the law that comes the closest to prohibiting people from firing firearms in their own backyard.

In addition to this, it states that “it shall be unlawful for any person to discharge a firearm while hunting in such a manner that any projectile strikes any dwelling or building used for human occupation, whether occupied or not or any commercial vessel,” and this cannot be done without the permission of the owner or lessee of the dwelling, building, or vessel that was struck by the projectile.

How much land do you need to shoot guns in Alabama?

Restrictions on Hunting Within 50 Yards of a Public Road It is illegal to hunt or discharge a firearm within 50 yards of the right-of-way of any public road, highway, or railroad if you are using a centerfire rifle, a shotgun that uses slugs or shot larger than number four (4) shot, or a muzzle loading rifle.